2013 garden

This year, I’ve been busier than ever in the garden. Spring was full of lovely colours in the back garden (see the pictures here), but the side yard and front garden were bare – I have bought lots of tulips bulbs to plant there this month to remedy the situation.

BACK GARDEN

I haven’t done much work in the back garden in summer as I wanted to concentrate my efforts in the side yard and the front garden. One thing that always pleases me there that requires no effort from me is the beauty of the climbing red roses on the arch, this is the 1st year that the arch is fully covered by the flowers.

rose arch june 2013

Another thing that delighted me in the back garden is the red flesh apple tree (pixirosso variety), I got about 30 apples from it this year, they are small in size but very tasty. You can see it here with the blackberry plant, a banana plant and the cotinus grace:

back garden august 2013

All fruit trees/plants here performed well (2 grapes, 1 cherry, 1 columnar cherry, 1 apple, 1 midget apple, 2 blackberries, 1 red currant, 1 buckingham tayberry, 1 loganberry, 1 boysenberry, raspberries and strawberries), except the apricot tree which turned out to be more like a plum tree (maybe a pluot tree?) and gave me just 1 fruit. I also got zero fruit from the peach tree, it suffered the dreaded peach leaf disease and I didn’t spray it on time with a bordeaux mixture solution.

This year, I tried a newspaper mulch system with my strawberry planters. I first heard about it from Monty Don in one of his old tv programs. It does work but it is not visually pleasing.

newspaper mulch strawberry planters

I use this pink table as a platform for growing lettuces and herbs in troughs (ivyline troughs from amazon):

growing a salad bar

This is a corner of the back garden in autumn:

back garden october 2013

One of the new zealand purple castor oil plants, that I grow from seed every year. Next year I’ll also plant some in the front garden.

purple castor oil plant

And the much loved cotinus grace, which is so vibrant in october. Its leaves look like they are glowing from the inside:

cotinus grace

SIDE YARD

The side yard is south facing so I decided to continue growing some of my vegs there. I got more 55 cm pots from Tesco (free with my clubcard points) in spring and lined the side yard with them.

side yard in june

This is the entrace to the back from the side, the wisteria plant has not flowered yet, and those purple flower plants were grown from seed but I lost the label so don’t know their names.

wisteria plant in a pot

I do an intensive planting here, which works as the pots are deep and roots can go down instead of competing at the top. Each 55cm pot usually has 3 or more plants in it. This is a typical pot with a purple sprouting broccoli in the middle and 4 pineapple berries around it:

broccoli pineable berries

Or a hibiscus plant (flowering for the 1st time) with 4 strawberry plants around it:

hibiscus plant strawberries

Even small pots (35cm) are planted intensively, like this chilli plant surrounded by 4 thai basil:

chilli thai basil plants

FRONT GARDEN

Ah, the front garden! It’s supposed to be a potager but it was more like a weedy messy jungle this year. And it was my fault. I was overwhelmed by the amount of weed there (creeping buttercup mainly) and did not add any fertiliser there (I use chicken manure pellets everywhere else) as I was afraid I may make the weed problem more proeminent. So I just added bark after weeding, and planted vegs and fruits here and there (squash, pumpkin, melon, watermelon and herbs) with a bit of the chiken manure pellets in each planting hole. But this was not enough and the plants struggled to grow. As a result, I only got 3 small squash (potimarron/red kuri) and no much else. Lesson learned, next year I will buy some proper bagged manure and will add it everywhere.

This is just after I’ve done a proper weeding in june. You can see that the right side area is just a temporary place for pots as I (or rather my partner) still need to build a raised bed along that mini wall.

front garden june 2013

Here it is again in october:

front garden october 2013

The plants that did well here are the dahlia planted last year, they were bushy with lots of flowers so I guess they are happy here. The 3 fruit trees here did not seem happy: the plum tree was on strike and did not even have a single leaf (I was worried it was dead but it is alive as the bark is green underneath, I read that plum trees do not like to be moved and I already moved this one twice), the apple tree did not have any fruit and the pear tree only gave me 1 fruit.

The dahlia are done now and I need to cut out their dead leaves. I leave the tubers in the ground as I found that they survive quite well here. And once the whole area is cleared and tidied up, I will need to plant some white onions and some tulip bulbs (I always plant them in december without any problem).

I can’t wait for spring. I am already dreaming of new things to grow. Do you have a garden? If so please leave a link to your blog so that I can see what you are growing in your part of the world.

6 thoughts on “2013 garden

  1. WOW love your front garden it looks amazing , and so colourful. You don’t need an allotment when this looks so good.

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  2. Gosh, I’m looking at your garden and thinking, “I want one!!” It’s beautiful, but also so productive! Sending a link to your garden to a gardening friend of mine, based in the UK. It’s Spring for her and I know she’ll also find it very inspiring.

    • Thanks Damaria. You are very lucky to have such a big garden, and you can grow lots of tropical things which I can only dream of growing here!

  3. Oh I loveee your garden! I had an allotment, but it got too much for me so am back growing at home in my “communal” area and it looks similar to yours, fullllll to the brim! Enjoy the season!

    • Thanks Zoe. Don’t we gardeners love to cram it full to the brimm! You are right, it’s great to have an allotment but it’s more convenient growing at home, I consider my front garden as my mini allotment now!

Leave a Reply

