this is not a sewing blog, is it?

Nope, no much sewing around here, although I’m in the middle of 2 custom orders which need finishing asap. I am not sewing anything new but managed to open 2 more shops (dawanda and folksy) in which I will only list ready to ship items (which I don’t have much of at the moment so these shops may look quite empty till I have an urge to stock them). My fabric stash however seem to increase so I have started selling some of them.

After months of wanting a walking foot, I finally managed to grab one (along with a custom fit add-on quilting table) at a bargain price on ebay. Now, I can finally think of making a quilt for our sofa. I bought the following book to teach myself as I have never made a big quilt in my life.

I’m still in the process of settling in the house. No much progress inside but I managed to do plenty of planting in the front and back garden, I’m working with what was already there (gravel and patio in the back and lawn in the front). I planted a japanese cherry tree in the middle of the lawn (front garden) and surrounded it pansies, then various flower bulbs and more pansies, I’ve also planted the 3 sides border of the lawn with flower bulbs hoping to have them as cut flowers for the house in summer.

I have always wanted to grow some fruit and vegetables and this year I am giving it a go. So far, these are what I’ve planted in the front garden, some in the ground, others in containers:

* fruit trees: cherry, nectarine, fig

* soft fruit bushes: 3 types of  berries

* strawberries

* vegetables: tomatoes (cherry, plum, hildares and marmande), bell peppers (green, yellow, red), french beans, jalapeno chilli, salad

* herbs: thyme, parsley, mint, basil, coriander

* flower plants: camelia, jasmine, geranium, petunia, pansies, impatients

* lots of flower bulbs/seeds (peony, dhalia, harlequin, freesia, gladioli, anemone, geranium, gloxinia, mirabilis, chinese lantern physalis,  sweet peas).

Links:

* picture of my gravel garden here

* my sewing room featured on shaby chic (a fab UK home deco/design blog) here

* my sewing room featured on apartment therapy here

One thought on “this is not a sewing blog, is it?

  1. I just saw your photo on FLIKR and followed the links to your blog – I am considering getting one of the Sew Steady Tables. Can you tell me if it is attached to the machine somehow or just slides around it? Can you take it on and off easily if you want to use the free arm in garment construction? Can you access the bobbin compartment??
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

