Thinking of opening a second etsy shop

I’ve realised that I’m very good at sourcing items at a good price, it’s a very useful skill as things in general are expensive in UK (well expensive compared to France and US where I do most of my online shopping in regard to fabric, notions etc). So, I thought it would be a good idea to open a second etsy shop just for supplies. It will be a small shop offering japanese books, japanese/french and us fabrics, sewing notions and maybe some jewellery findings supplies. I’m planning to open that shop sometime in september after I’ve been back from a buying trip to Paris.

One of the things that I get from Paris (that I seem to find impossible to find anywhere at a good price) is a fabulous woven interfacing that I use in my bags (interfacing that does not make the fabric look wrinkly as the texture is more of a cotton fabric rather than the paper/card texture of non woven interfacing), it’s more expensive than the usual pellon interfacings for bags so I’m not sure if it’s worth selling it in the new shop. And, I plan to transfer all of the japanese books and fabrics from my current shop to the new one, but for now I am doing a weekly promotion where you can BUY ONE YARD OF FABRIC and GET ANOTHER YARD HALF PRICE.

Below is a recent custom order I sewed, the fabric is the bamboo cotton blend that I got a while ago. This fabric is so soft and silky, it is much better to use it in clothing, but if used in bags and accessories you need to interface it in the same way as you would a Liberty lawn fabric.

I also got some new organic bamboo velour fabric that would be great for baby products. I have so many ideas for new products but my time seem to be all taken by the sewing side (I wish I had a sewing fairy to help me out!).

2 thoughts on “Thinking of opening a second etsy shop

  1. Lova je suis allee sur Etsy voir ton magasin et je suis epatee. Non seulement tu as fait des choses superbes, mais tu en as 80. Je ne sais pas si j’ai fait 80 objets en couture, ou meme 50. tu as beaucoup d’idees, bravo.
    Je retourne m’y promener.

Leave a Reply

