Happy Christmas

Wishing you all a very happy Christmas and a wonderful new year in advance as I won’t have much time to blog till the new year. I’m sewing lots (birthday gifts, leaving gifts, thank you gifts, donated prizes items for charity on top of some Christmas gifts) leaving me hardly any time to finish sorting out my sewing room and have accepted that it will only be finished in january. Lots of sewing meant I ran out of some threads so went back to my usual supplier but they don’t sell my favorite brand anymore so had to source a new supplier and found Kathleen over at Back Forty Quilting, she has the Aurifil cotton (the best in my opinion) 50wt 1422 yards spool on sale at $6.99 each, delivery was very quick (7 working days from us to uk) and she can fit 20 spools in the $11 flat rate envelop, hurry up if you would like to get some as she only has a limited stock left.

Christmas wise, this is the first time that I will have my partner’s mother over for Christmas lunch/dinner so I had to learn and practice cooking a traditional British Christmas menu which was a bit hilarious as I am mainly pescarian and have never cooked a roast turkey or even a roast chicken in my whole life before that! I got the hang of it though and now feel confident that I will be able to cook a lovely meal for everyone.

I’m leaving you with a picture of a simple cosmetic bag that I made using the bamboo fabric, I love that fabric and am hoping to find a fabric co-op that sells some of the range (please let me know if you know of any as at the present I’m buying it at a full retail price). The second picture is from Amy Butler’s book Midwest Modern with a great idea for a laptop cover.

Butterfly purse made with bamboo fabricAmy Butler laptop cover


4 thoughts on “Happy Christmas

  1. I also wish you all the best, and especially a lot of sewing.
    I cannot help you about the fabric, but would be very interested if you had an answer. I only know that fabric is cheaper in the States, but you figured that before.

  2. Thank you so much for telling me about the supplier of single sided fusible fleece. I am planning to make the owl bag (to match the cat) and look forward to trying it out.

  3. I’m glad to know you are back in England, and that you enjoyed some shopping in Paris. Let us see what you make with the liberty you mentioned on my blog, you have some very good ideas.

Leave a Reply

